“I read some Marx (and I liked it)”

A friend of mine posted a link to this on facebook … if Katy Perry read Marx, it might sound a bit like this:

(Lyrics below)

Listening to this song also got me to look up who Adam Smith was, and Marx’s idea of Alienation, so it was educational too.
I haven’t (yet) read some Marx, so I don’t know if I like it or not.

And one additional terrible joke …
Q: Why do Communists only drink herbal tea?
A: Because proper-tea is theft!

(Actually, I think herbal tea is proper tea, but that’s another story …)

Lyrics:

(Yes?

What are you doing?

I’m reading some Karl Marx.

OMG.)

I thought I just wanted to pass
Good grades were all I cared for
My College made me take this class
More stuff for me to ignore

But then I found out that
His theories weren’t so bad
Labour and class combat
What a very clever man

I read some Marx, and I liked it
Friend of the Proletariat
I read some Marx, just to try it
Hope Adam Smith don’t mind it
It felt so wrong, it felt so right
Men of the working class unite
I read some Marx, and I liked it … I liked it

There is a spectre hanging over
The face of Europe
‘Tis Communism and it’s more
Than a social hiccup
A time will come soon when
The masses rise as one
To carve out their place in
The brand new poetry to come

I read some Marx, and I liked it
Friend of the Proletariat
I read some Marx, just to try it
Hope Adam Smith don’t mind it
It felt so wrong, it felt so right
Men of the working class unite
I read some Marx, and I liked it … I liked it

Marx is the man, he’s working for you
The bourgeoisie, they just ain’t your crew
Alienation of labour is bad
Commodification is not a good fad
Capitalists are greedy, you see
A shorter work day, now that’s what we need

I’m reading some Marx, and I’m liking it
Rise up now, proletariat …

I read some Marx, and I liked it
Friend of the Proletariat
I read some Marx, just to try it
Hope Adam Smith don’t mind it
It felt so wrong, it felt so right
Men of the working class unite
I read some Marx, and I liked it … I liked it

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “I read some Marx (and I liked it)”

  1. Lucie says:

    I laughed pretty hard. 😄

  2. Louise says:

    I hope these boys are in the drama club at the school, beause the main guy has an awesome voice!!

Leave a Reply

