Theodore Roosevelt – “Do what you can …”

“Do what you can, with what you have, where you are.”

– Theodore Roosevelt

A pretty classic quotation. I like this one because:

It is freeing
It’s not telling me to do something I can’t do. It doesn’t encourage me to beat myself up for not achieving the impossible.

It is challenging
It’s not telling me to do something I can’t do. There are no excuses here, there’s no room for prevarication. Either I am doing what I can in the circumstances I’m in … or I’m not.

What does it say to you / make you think of?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Theodore Roosevelt – “Do what you can …”

  1. Jade says:

    I pretty much agree with you. It also speaks to me about challenging the nature and habits of materialism: so many of the things we ‘want’ are literally just wants. We could get by without them, either by realising that we don’t need them at all, substituting with something that we already have, or getting creative with what we have.

    Speaking of creative, I have to share this with you: http://j.mp/9mbyHm it absolutely made my night. And in a roundabout way, it’s doing what you can, where you are, with what you have! 😛

  2. That’s a really good point … I hadn’t thought about it with respect to materialism before. But that really makes sense.

    And that link is totally hilarious! Although perhaps not the best thing ever to do if she ever needs a reference … ? But I bet it feels good to get it out …

Leave a Reply

