So. The flooding in Pakistan.

It’s been said that the world isn’t paying anywhere near enough attention to the floods taking place in Pakistan.

And that’s definitely been mirrored in my personal response … I’ve been trying to figure out why. Usually I’m pretty quick off the bat with a cheque or an online donation (I’ve had my bank cards stopped a couple of times for that which was annoying … apparently criminals often go and put through a smallish donation to charity on a stolen card to see if it works), and this time … I haven’t done anything, except nod along during the prayers at Church. Which doesn’t count very much.

Partly I think it’s the difference in the media coverage – it doesn’t seem to be everywhere, unlike, say, Haiti was. So it’s easier to forget. Partly it’s because I’m now sponsoring a girl in Zambia through World Vision so it’s got a little easier to tell myself “hey, you’re doing your bit” – but I know deep down that that’s not quite true. Also, partly it’s that I’m no longer working full time / a student receiving quite a lot of support – for the first time in 5 years I’m really having to count the pennies (you know, in a ‘can I feed myself for 3 days on £5?’ way).

But f***ing hell, that’s no excuse. There are people dying and I could do something about it and I’m not doing anything about it. That’s not who I want to be.

So. This ends here. I’m finding out about the situation – since it’s not being blasted at me from all sides like some others were – and donating £15 to the DEC (was going to go for World Vision, but they don’t seem to have a ‘donate by cheque’ option on their website, and I’ve had problems with my bank – see above). Whereas the DEC page has lots of options (including text message – text 70707 with the word GIVE to donate £5).

Oxfam – Pakistan floods page
World Vision’s news page
BBC South Asia news page
BBC – story of one particular town

The situation with the rains, and the cholera, sounds … really frightening. Not to mention other huge problems like roads and bridges having been washed away. I will be praying for these people – and actually praying, not just meaning to in a vague way.

Do you think my impressions are correct – has this disaster been significantly differently handled by the media, compared to, say, Haiti? Do you think it’s to do with political views of Pakistan? I’d be interested to hear others’ views.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to So. The flooding in Pakistan.

  1. Jade says:

    “Do you think my impressions are correct – has this disaster been significantly differently handled by the media, compared to, say, Haiti? Do you think it’s to do with political views of Pakistan?”

    Yes, yes, and yes. Sad, really.

  2. I’ve seen a somewhat positive trend in the British media over the last few days – focus is finally turning to aid and how important it is, with more reports of what’s going on and why it’s bad / why the situation is getting worse and they need more help (waterborne disease / roads and bridges washed away etc). And the DEC saying the UK public is ‘shaming’ politicians by their generous giving – e.g. reported here: http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/blog/2010/aug/23/pakistan-floods-response-united-nations

Leave a Reply

