Saturday play – subject choice

Hey hey 🙂

This Thursday saw the publication of A level results (end of schooling before University), which is a big deal in the lives of the students awaiting results, and is made a big deal of by the media who will trot out the same stories again and again, and make a big fuss (are exams getting easier? Some professor says they are! Someone else says that’s not fair! Hey, here’s a kid with 5 As who didn’t get in to Oxbridge, scandal! Here’s a 3 year old with 7 A levels, look at the freak!).

Now, it’s been a few years since I was awaiting mine – but this year we were anxious about my cousin, who had wobbled a bit in January exams … I’m pleased to report he got 4 As and is heading to his first choice University after the summer 🙂

All this has got me thinking about school subjects – and Harry Potter, for some reason. So this week, my questions are:

  1. What was your favourite subject at school?
  2. Which subject from the Harry Potter books would you most like to study?
  3. If you could introduce any subject into the school curriculum (imagine there are no time or money or facilities constraints), what would it be?

My answers:

1. I’m really not sure what my favourite school subject was. I mean, maths was always fine, but wasn’t something I really loved until A level – and at A level I also loved other things. I guess a tie between Maths and History? I started studying history at year 11, and carried it on to A level – basically covered a lot of European political history, 1900-1940. And that was really, really interesting.

2. After consulting http://harrypotter.wikia.com/wiki/Hogwarts_School_of_Witchcraft_and_Wizardry, I think I would like to take History of Magic, or Study of Ancient Runes.

3. I would introduce Ceroc classes for ages 14 and up. Ceroc is (as described by wikipedia) a fusion of salsa and modern jive, but with easy footwork – I’ve only been to one class, but it was fabulous. I think that it would be a fantastic addition to the school curriculum because it’s good for self-confidence and body-confidence, gives you a great way to interact with people (no more awkwardly standing at the other side of the room etc), and is fantastic exercise. Plus, then school dances would be awesome.

What would your picks be? I’m all ears 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Saturday play – subject choice

  1. Hazelnut says:

    Ooh, just saw this, fun fun :). Now, let me think…

    1. It’s quite hard to have a favourite subject for me really as I like far too many different things! My favourite subject at college was probably English Language, I also loved learning Spanish, though unfortunately have only done that at GCSE level…

    2. Ooh, would have to be something hands-on methinks, either Charms, Transfiguration or Defence of the Dark Arts. The latter might be the most exciting :).

    3. Hmm, this is a difficult one, I had enough difficulty choosing between the subjects they already have in school! I don’t think I could really pick one… perhaps Circus Skills?

  2. I think you might mean ‘Defence against the Dark Arts’ rather than defence of … :p. Unless you want to champion dark causes and treacherous deeds?

    Circus skills. Love it. Wish I could unicycle (I can’t even bike on two wheels …).

Leave a Reply

