Tea of the Week – Twilight

I found the tea! I hadn’t left it at work. I’d put it in the very top of the cupboard, hiding behind cupcake cases (this is what happens when you have too much tea and not enough cupboard).

Here’s the finally-located box:
A purple box

Source: I’ve no idea where the herbs and things are grown. I bought the tea from Tea Palace.

Here’s the back of the box, which tells you about the ingredients:Information on the tea's ingredients

Cost: a 50g carton (the size I have) is £6.95. Because this is a chamomile and peppermint based tea, 50g is a lot of volume – the same size carton usually holds 125g of black tea.
You can get an 80g carton for £9.25.

Ethics: No idea. I’ve previously bought the same tea from another supplier, but they’ve sadly gone out of business – although they were pretty hot on ethics, so maybe this is ethical if from the same place? But really no information here.

Brewing instructions: Put a good dessertspoonful (that’s two teaspoons’ worth), at least, into an infuser / disposable teabag / pot / etc. Like this:

 Tea filter top-down

Tea filter with tea in it

Using boiling water, infuse for 3 or 4 minutes. You can’t overbrew this, so you don’t have to worry about timing it – and you do want a good long time to get all of the flavours.

Appearance: Mostly golden, with perhaps the tiniest hint of green … this colour:
Glass mug of tea

Nose: if you know what you’re looking for (smelling for?) you can make out the peppermint and chamomile. If you don’t, then you get warm, and slightly herbal, and soothing.

Taste: It’s a well-balanced, complex herbal tea. This was the first herbal tea that I really liked (I first had it a couple of years ago), because it has different notes and flavours and really tastes of something.

There’s a bit of peppermint and a bit of chamomile, but those provide a base for the tea rather than dominating it – when I first started drinking this I didn’t like plain peppermint tea, and I didn’t like plain chamomile tea, but I liked this.

It tastes slightly honeyed, which I think may be the orange blossom showing through (and a touch of sweetness from the rose? I can’t taste rose, but I think it is contributing here), and then it also feels cleansing – which I think is the lemongrass (and to some extent the peppermint). And I’m sure that the lavender is doing something, but as I’ve never had lavender on its own in a tea I can’t quite tell what.

Food match: I think the key to matching this to food is to remember the words ‘honeyed’ and ‘cleansing’. The sweet side of things means it goes well with slightly sweet foods, but on the other hand the slightly astringent taste means it wouldn’t work with creamy foods. Accordingly, I think this goes well with things that are sweet-but-crisp – lemon thins, for example.

Having said that, I was very tempted whilst drinking it to go and get some leftover pizza out of the fridge … I think the impulse there is that it would counterbalance the slight greasiness of the pizza by tasting healthy and clean. This makes sense.

Unfortunately, this post has taken long enough to write that I’ve finished my tea.
Empty glass mug

So I’ll need to make another cup if I want some with the pizza.
Or I could just eat the pizza.

Two slices of pizza in foilMmmmmm. Pizza.

What’s your favourite (or most hated!) herbal tea?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tea of the Week – Twilight

  1. Jade says:

    I really don’t like peppermint, even though it’s very good for you. This sounds nice though, especially the pizza part 😉

    I’ve been having to try and drink peppermint because of my cold, I’m getting very, er… how to put this politely? There is a lot of mucous, and it’s highly unpleasant!

  2. Peppermint’s good for colds? I didn’t realise that … it’s also supposed to be good for the digestion, apparently.

    You could try some combination of lemon / ginger / echinacea as well perhaps? To vary the tastes … I think ginger is good for unclogging. And really hot ribena … probably won’t do much (I suppose it would have vitamin C in it – is vitamin C heat sensitive?) but any hot drink will help by getting you breathing lots of steam … or at least that’s what I do.

  3. Jade says:

    Oh, I wasn’t drinking peppermint for the cold, I was drinking it to drive away the taste of the mucous that kept trickling down the back of my throat. Ewww.

    I am not a fan of ginger, but hot ribena does sound nice. Not something I’d ever have thought of! I’ve mostly been drinking hot lemon and honey, fresh orange juice, and having tomatoes for breakfast (hot with bacon and eggs, and sometimes mushrooms) when I don’t oversleep.

    When I was still very sick and miserable, I actually considered eating raw garlic. Apparently it rapidly increases the healing process for colds/flu… I wasn’t quite game, though!

  4. Pingback: Tea Tea Tea … a retrospective | Eudoxia Friday : Thoughtful Eclecticism

Leave a Reply

