Saturday play – ice cream!

I’ve had ice cream on the brain this week 🙂 I blame the Food Program (BBC Radio 4) – this week’s one was all about ice cream and gelato. Mmmmm. This is part of why I’ve bought 2 tubs of Ben and Jerry’s* this week … (though I’ve eaten about 1/6 of each tub – I haven’t eaten a full kilo of rich ice cream!).

So two questions for you:

What’s the best ice cream/gelato flavour you’ve ever had? And if you could invent any ice cream or gelato flavour, what would you come up with?

I think the best flavour I’ve ever had was a lemon meringue gelato, in Italy (can’t remember what city … possibly Florence? I didn’t see it elsewhere). It really did taste of lemon curd and meringue and … oooh, it was lovely and really unusual.

Now, if I could create any flavour … this is a tough one. I’m thinking redcurrants, for some reason … and something creamy. I think a cookies and cream sort of ice cream – heavy on the cream with tiny bits of dark chocolatey cookie (like oreos) and a redcurrant sauce swirled in. Mmmmm.

That’s mine. Over to you!

*I think Ben and Jerry’s are more and more awesome not only because their ice cream tastes great but also because they’re using more and more fairtrade/ethically sourced ingredients. The internet tells me they’re planning to be 100% fairtrade (i.e. all ingredients that can be fairtrade will be fairtrade) by the end of 2011 in Europe and 2013 in the US.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Saturday play – ice cream!

  1. Railton says:

    Made millionaire shortbread icecream once (i.e. bits of shortbread, caramel and chocolate). I recommend it 😀

  2. Jade says:

    Pistachio gelato, or green tea ice cream. Although chocolate chip cookie dough is pretty fricking awesome. I’d just want to make non-dairy ice cream that tasted like the real thing so I could eat loads of it without giving myself a tummy ache.

  3. Railton says:

    Oh my, have just remembered! That bread icecream at Trinity. Mmmmmm.

Leave a Reply

