Saturday Play – cross stitch

I’m thinking ahead to Christmas. It’s almost October, and my husband works in a toy shop, which means that for them “Christmas” starts in about 2 weeks (I hasten to add that they don’t start putting decorations out, just generally gearing up for the holiday season without it being too obvious to the customer).

This Christmas, I suspect I shall not have a lot of money. By starting work I’m actually poorer than when I was a student – no more qualifying for lots of maintenance grant! Mind you, I’m only working 2 days a week, so that accounts for a lot … so I’m going to be trying to make / recycle many things this Christmas. And that got me thinking about cross-stitch.

Box of spools of embroidery thread
Cross stitch isn’t a particularly cheap craft – except when you have the supplies already, at which point it becomes free. We have a box of embroidery thread and a reasonably large amount of fabric passed down from my husband’s grandmother, plus I have a few things in the way of beads / sequins / ribbons, so there could be potential here …

I went to the library yesterday, and looked through some cross stitch books (our library has many) … but as you would expect, a lot of it is really, really naff. I can make some rather darling Christmas decorations; that won’t be a problem. But I’d kind of like to come up with something neat to make as a potential mini-gift-thing. And I don’t think I’m going to find it in the middle of samplers of “baby X, born [date], weighed [this much]” surrounded by duckies. So perhaps you can help me …

What design can you think of that you’d like to see in cross stitch / embroidered?

My answers so far are:
– an approximation to the Sierpinski Triangle
– an approximation to the Koch snowflake
– teapots! I do rather love teapots.
– something ironic … but I haven’t come up with a particular something yet
– spaceships / UFOs

Post your suggestions and help me out! Or leave a comment explaining why this enterprise is doomed to failure … either way, leave me a comment :).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Saturday Play – cross stitch

  1. Jade says:

    I remember a few years ago I tried my hand at cross stitch. Let’s just say it did not end well! The front looked ago but the back was a tangled, tangled mess.

    Um… books? They’re easy-ish… mostly straight lines xD

  2. Books could be good … I like libraries. Easy to personalise according to the recipient, too πŸ™‚

    Went to IKEA today and I now have some cheap photo frames (3 small wooden frames, and 4 small glass clippy frames) to use for displaying cross-stitched things once I’ve done some … now time to chart some designs and do something!

    (How are you at the moment? Been busy lately? πŸ™‚ )

  3. Railton says:

    I’m currently halfway through this: http://tiny.cc/kxaoh

    That is very much not getting finished for Christmas!

    I had some *very* rudimentary software once that you could design cross stiches on and it would print you off a nice chart. I bet you could still find something along those lines…

    I’ve got the design for this in Cambridge if you have any scottish relatives πŸ™‚ http://tiny.cc/ymzps

  4. Wow – that first one is really impressive. Although I will admit I would be more drawn to this: http://tiny.cc/xyds5afr02 which it linked to underneath …

    Finding software is a good idea … a couple of years ago I made some Christmas stockings (there are photos on Ravelry if anyone’s on there – I’m ‘Eudoxia’) and charted them by using Excel and colouring in the cells, but that was a little painful.

    Liking the cow πŸ™‚

    • Railton says:

      I orginally was going to chose that one, but thought all the black and white would send me insane πŸ™‚

      Will try and find a scanner for cow chart!

Leave a Reply

