Saturday play – singing!

I’ve been at a gospel choir workshop thing all day (well, about 10:30-4:20 which feels like all day – I slept in til about 9, catching up on all the sleep I needed to). It’s been a lot of fun – I really like singing, but it can be hard to find the opportunity to sing to songs I enjoy (due to e.g. embarrassment – I’m not the sort to just sing whilst walking around the house – or e.g. church choosing songs that I cringe through).

Today’s question: what are your favourite songs to sing?

My answer: I really enjoy songs where you have loads of words to get out in a very precise way – for example Gilbert and Sullivan’s ‘Modern Major General’, or ‘Take me to your leader’ by the Newsboys.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Saturday play – singing!

  1. Jade says:

    I have been accused of singing too much, haha. I just love it! I enjoy a wide range of styles and tempos. It really depends on my mood. I have recently rediscovered my love of music (thanks, iTunes) and one of my favourite things to do (when I’m home alone, cough) is to dance around my room singing at the top of my lungs.

    I have an album by a band called Apocalyptica, with no lyrics, which is what I listen to when I study. If the music has words, I will actually get too distracted singing along, haha.

    I quite enjoy musicals and have been in two, so sometimes I do belt out a show tune 🙂 my uni friends sometimes even join in. Good times.

  2. Sounds great 🙂 which musicals have you been in? I think I’d enjoy singing show tunes if I learnt the words to some of them properly (I tend to know just the first verse or just the chorus, that sort of thing) … perhaps something to learn!

  3. Jade says:

    I’ve been in My Fair Lady, Into the Woods and Sweet: the Musical 🙂 I’m also a huge fan of Calamity Jane, Dr. Horrible’s Sing-a-long Blog, A Very Potter Musical and The Phantom of the Opera.

  4. Alison says:

    I sing in the car, mainly when the radio’s playing cheesy pop or power ballads. Radio 2 played lots of Beatles/John Lennon stuff the other morning (John Lennon’s son was being interviewed) and I realised I knew every word to “A day in the life” – my dad used to play The Beatles a lot (whenever he didn’t have Mozart on), so a lot of it sunk in.
    I almost always have songs stuck in my head; if I’m distracted and not really concentrating, I’ll start humming or singing along to them!

Leave a Reply

