Tea of the Week – Clipper Green Tea with Lemon

(Having featured bits and pieces in the background of my photos last week, I decided that this was a trend well worth continuing … so this week in the background we have my latest knitting project: a scarf made from reclaimed yarn. It’s going rather well.)

It’s about time we touched on green tea again … so here I bring you: Clipper’s Green Tea with Lemon.

Source: ‘Product of more than one country’ in terms of where it comes from … (ingredients list: Fairtrade green tea, natural flavouring, lemon peel (1%)). Clipper teas can generally be found in any big supermarket (this one I found in a large Tesco), or you can shop online.

Cost: £1.59 for 25 bags (50g), slightly more for 50 bags (100g) because that’s what I bought – but I can’t find the 50 bag size on their website to get a price for it. I suspect it’s about £2.50. Doesn’t appear to be available as loose-leaf.

Ethics: 92% Fairtrade ingredients. I’m pretty impressed. Look, you can read it for yourself (okay, maybe after clicking through to the big photo):

Brewing instructions: On the box (see picture above) they say “This is how we do it: always use fresh water, pour it over the tea bag while it’s still boiling and allow to infuse for 1-3 minutes. The rest is up to you”.

I’d agree – taking ‘while it’s still boiling’ to mean ‘just before the kettle actually boils and clicks off’ (since this is what you should do with green tea). As I said last time I talked about green tea, I like mine lightish. 2 minutes seems to work pretty well.

Right. Time to get on with it!
Appearance: Very yellow, but with definite tints of green.
<– Here’s the truest picture of the colour I’ve managed to get.

Nose: Citrussy, with a tiny hint of spice (I wonder what the ‘natural flavouring’ is?). Quite a ‘full’ scent.

Taste: Mmmmmmmm. My palate has definitely become accustomed to green tea … this tastes smooth and rounded and green (apologies, if anyone can think of a better way to describe the classic green tea taste then please let me know), with a note of lemon, and a slight bitter aftertaste – but somehow I like the aftertaste. I’m not quite sure how that works.

Food match: This tends to be a tea I drink on its own, when I’m at home. However, thinking of places where I’ve had green tea whilst out and about (e.g. Wagamamas), I’d suggest Chinese/Japanese foods such as dim sum, fried noodles/rice or noodle soups. Mmmmm …

To conclude, I would totally recommend this tea, with the caveat that if you hate green tea then you’ll probably hate this (duh). But I think it’s really lovely.

Thoughts? Comments? Tips for how to photograph tea interestingly? Let me know.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Tea of the Week – Clipper Green Tea with Lemon

  1. Pingback: Tea Tea Tea … a retrospective | Eudoxia Friday : Thoughtful Eclecticism

  2. Peggy says:

    I’ve tried many green tea with lemon and this is by far my favourite.. The only problem I have is I forget where I bought it and cannot seem to see it in any of my local supermarkets..

    • That’s a shame … I’ve definitely found that supermarkets can change what they stock quite often, which can be quite frustrating when you’ve just discovered a new favourite! You could try ordering off the Clipper website, or maybe if you have any health stores near you you could try them? A friend and I, looking for Clipper’s Assam with Vanilla (which I used to be able to find in supermarkets but now can’t …) found it in Julian Graves.

  3. John says:

    This is my favourite also, but I don’t seem to be able to find it at the moment in supermarkets.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Try Holland & Barrett

  5. Helen Elliott says:

    Or Sainsburys (and although I am a great fan of Sainsbury’s their offering of green tea with lemon is not nice, so don’t be tempted price wise!).

  6. Anonymous says:

    found mine at co-op

Leave a Reply

