On Driving

Leave sooner, drive slower, live longer.

Author Unknown

I drove somewhere unfamiliar this morning, for the first time in a while. The trouble with being eco-conscious and not wanting to make unnecessary journeys in the car is that it can leave you for months on end having only driven for a maximum of 5 minutes … which is not a good way of keeping up your skills.

This morning was good – I’m giving some friends a lift on Sunday afternoon (to and from ice-skating), and I wanted to make sure I knew where I was going. I’m also learning to take directions from the Sat Nav, which I’m sure is an important life skill , or at least an important skill for driving whilst darling husband is asleep – as I suspect will be the case on Christmas Eve (he’ll have been working all day, so I’m driving us to go and visit my parents).

I went and had a look for quotations about driving … and the one above is the best I came up with πŸ™‚ many of the others were funny, but just things I totally don’t subscribe to. Am I unusual in generally thinking well of / assuming the best of other drivers? (e.g. “they must’ve got confused about lanes and only realised at the last minute” is my assumption over “that asshole, pushing in like that”) – I think probably I’m just naive and don’t drive enough hours to be particularly annoyed with people. But that’s good. I’ll stick with that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On Driving

  1. Hazelnut says:

    I always try to think the best when strangers annoy me. Seeing as I haven’t got a full driving license yet, this doesn’t often apply in that way. However when people are generally rude to you, and you don’t really know them, I think it’s best to just think ‘maybe they’re having a bad day’, as it may well be true, and there’s no point in it ruining your day. So I think that whether or not you are unusual in thinking well of drivers, it’s certainly a good view to take πŸ™‚

  2. Wise words there πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

