Tea of the Week – Pukka Love

In my retrospective last week, I was surprised to see that I haven’t reviewed this yet (I have some sort of nagging suspicion that I must have reviewed this tea already. Maybe I dreamed I blogged about it).

Pink individually wrapped sachet of Pukka love tea

This is a Pukka tea that I’ve liked for a long time. It seems to be suitable for any occasion, somehow (well, unless you want a caffeine hit, in which case it’s a bit useless although still refreshing). And I kind of like the fact that it comes in individually wrapped sachets (as I think all Pukka teas do) because it makes it really easy to take a few teabags to work and things like that – or to send them to people.

Anyhow. It’s late at night and I need to go to bed: on with the review!

Source: Pukka teas are available in larger supermarkets (or they were last time I checked), lots of health food shops, or online at pukkaherbs.com.

Cost: A box of 20 individually-wrapped teabags typically costs about £2 – Love is currently on their website for £2.09. So far as I know they don’t sell tea in other quantities.

Ethics: From the website, the pukka pledge:

  • 100% organic
  • Fairly traded
  • Sustainable
  • Traceable
  • Carbon neutral
  • Purely vegetarian

Pretty decent list really! (Note that ‘Fairly traded’ isn’t the same as Fairtrade; which isn’t to necessarily say that the welfare standard is different, just that for whatever reason it isn’t connected with Fairtrade certification)

Brewing instructions: “infuse for at least 5 minutes”. Boiling water, of course. Can’t really get this one wrong. I tend to take the teabag out after about 5-10 minutes (e.g. I might brew for 5 or 6 minutes, not paying too much attention to the time, start drinking it, and then take the teabag out when I’m halfway down.)

Appearance: A yellowish colour … looks appropriately “herbal”, I think. Look:

Top-down view of mug of teaGolden.

Nose: (I think I need to buy a book about perfumes or something to better learn how to describe smells. Nevertheless, here’s an attempt:)

Organic. Light, but complex. Scent of something that comes from flowers – but not floral per se (I think it’s the chamomile). Slightly sweet. Not grassy or green, but still light and organic.

Taste: This tea has a really balanced taste, with a lingering sweetness. It’s sweet, but not sugary or honeyed or rose-scented – just somehow … sweet (actually, it probably is the rose, but it doesn’t taste of rose – maybe it’s the licorice too?). It’s refreshing, flavourful, light (but not insipid) and again – really well balanced. I’m afraid I can’t describe what it tastes of, you’ll just have to try it for yourself.

(The ingredients list: rose, lavender, elderflower, marigold, limeflower, chamomile, licorice)

Hand holding Winnie-the-Pooh mug of teaWinnie-the-Pooh loves love

Food match: this tea goes surprisingly well with sweet treats. I would’ve thought that drinking sweet-but-not-sugary herbal tea whilst eating an M&S bakery piece of sugar-topped chocolate chip shortbread would be a really bad combination … but it really worked. Something about the freshness of the tea went nicely with the sugariness of the shortbread.

Chocolate chip shortbread in bag

Empty bag containing shortbread crumbs

Nom nom nom.


This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Tea of the Week – Pukka Love

  1. (yes, those are patent leather green doc martens in the picture)

  2. Railton says:

    I appreciated the way you sneaked those in there 🙂

  3. Hazelnut says:

    Mmm… I want shortbread. Nom.

  4. Nom nom nom …

    Hey, shortbread shaped like Docs … now that would be cool.

  5. Pingback: Tea of the Week – Pukka Morning Time | Eudoxia Friday : Thoughtful Eclecticism

  6. Pingback: Loving me : loving you « The Hopsack – Health Food Store – Dublin

  7. Tanya says:

    Well I don’t like it. I bought Pukka Love tea because the description said it includes organic rose. Unfortunately, rose, as well as other ingredients’ flavors are not detectable. All you can taste is chamomile. But there are lots of chamomile teas you can buy much cheaper. Don’t waste your money.

    Here’s the ingredients listed on the box:

    Chamomile flowers (25%)
    limeflower, elderflower, marigold petal, licorose root, rose flower (5%)
    lavender flower (5%)

    I’m wondering what other 65% of not listed ingredients are?

    • Fair enough – if it just tastes of chamomile to you then you’re absolutely right, other chamomile teas are cheaper! And I’d definitely agree that it’s not a rose tea, although I don’t think the rose is undetectable … but very much hint-of-rose-somewhere rather than rose tea. (I wonder if you can get rose tea? I know there’s rose flavoured black tea, and rosehip tea …)

      The box only lists those ingredients with those proportions? How odd! I don’t have my box any more, so I don’t have any information … I would have thought it would be mostly chamomile. Very strange if it’s only 25%!

Leave a Reply

