Wisdom from Spam?

I’ve been getting more spam comments lately – possibly as a result of signing up to PostAWeek2011.

The 3 latest ones were kind of worth reading, though (the comment was fine, but the address posted from made it clearly spam), so I thought I’d share them with you:

Manifest plainness, Embrace simplicity, Reduce selfishness, Have few desires.

“When you reach the heart of life you shall find beauty in all things, even in the eyes that are blind to beauty.” ~ Kahlil Gibran

“Remember that not getting what you want is sometimes a wonderful stroke of luck.”

Generic quotations? Yes, definitely. But still possibly worth reading. I’m not really convinced by the first one – I don’t think plainness is something to be sought, nor few desires, and the second one sounds a bit esoteric to me (well, esoteric in a way I’m not interested in).

But the third … not getting what you want can definitely be a wonderful stroke of luck. And it’s worth keeping that in mind when it happens.

My anecdote: I didn’t get to go to University when I wanted to, and instead spent 2 gap years waiting … I did get: time/money to learn to drive, experience in teaching-assistanting which gave me loads of people skills and turned out to be relevant to my future, and married. At the time, I was gutted; looking back, I wouldn’t change it.

Do you have a story about not getting what you wanted, but it turning out better that way?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

