Saturday play – quiz

Questions adapted from http://www.insideoutstyleblog.com/2011/01/stylish-thoughts-already-pretty.html, which was a style-focused quiz. Because I used to love internet quizzes when I was younger (you know, favourite colour, favourite song, etc etc …) and I came across that blog post recently and thought an adapted version would be interesting.

What is the one thing you would spend a lot of money on?
Travel. Not in the “I must go to see this cultural capital!” sort of way (although I guess that’s nice too), but in the “it costs money to go and see [person I love] / go to [event where there will be lots of people I know and want to catch up with], but it’s worth it”.

Most things I spend a lot of money on (boots, tea, books …) I could probably do without, but when it comes to catching up with people there’s no substitute for visiting in person – and sometimes you just have to pay what it costs.

What is the one thing you wouldn’t spend a lot of money on?
Anything impractical. I want my shoes to be ones I can walk in for miles, my watches to be waterproof, my backpacks to be tough … things have to work or they’re not worth it.

What is your current obsession?
Um … tea? Actually, recently – over the past few days – I’ve been really getting back into knitting, having bought Mason-Dixon Knitting Outside The Lines (it arrived on Thursday). I’ve been playing with intarsia. I like how you can make patchwork type designs with it.

Who inspires you?
Hmmmmm. This is a hard one.

Anyone who gets through Part II maths at Cambridge, because it was the toughest year of my life by far and I admire anybody who makes it through that (myself included. Can I inspire myself?)

Glennon, of Momastery. Because … well, go read her blog, then you’ll understand.

People who fix things.

What’s not worth the money?
Ancient tea. Acrylic yarn. Alarmist books, or anything like that that resorts to scare tactics (whether the topic is religion, climate change, politics …). Food at railway stations.

The one piece of advice most women need but don’t get?
I’m not sure if it’s advice, exactly, but: Everybody matters.

Everybody. For some people that might mean “you’ve got to value yourself”, for other people that might mean being kinder to others or taking their opinions seriously (rather than thinking that you have a monopoly on right-thinking). Or it might mean making new lifestyle choices and supporting people through charities because poor communities in the developing world – they matter too, and it isn’t their fault that crazy weather leaves them homeless and starving.

However it plays out, I think if we all acted like we believed that everybody matters the world would be a far better place.

How would you describe yourself?
Off the top of my head: intelligent. conscientious. hardworking. friendly – at least I hope I am. loving. generally optimistic. loyal.

How would you answer any/all of these questions?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

