What are you learning?

From the sermon at Church yesterday:

How and what are you learning?

The message was focused on drawing attention to the fact that many of us go through daily life doing things that need to be done without really thinking about how we’re living.

How and what are you learning? Does that line up with the priorities you say you have? [If you believe in God] are you becoming the person God wants you to be? Are you becoming the person you want to be? Are you becoming better educated about issues you think are important? Are you learning to become kinder, more forgiving, more diligent? If not, why not? Excuses? Mismatch between what you say you think is important and what – deep down – you really think is important?

I’m not sure what the next step is, but I suspect it involves these – they’re all books I own, and 3/4 of them I haven’t yet read in full.

This has been a bit of a wake-up call for me – I’m hoping that I can start taking learning about Christianity more seriously, because I’ve got lots of resources that I haven’t dedicated enough time to using (e.g. books – Church history, basic cultural stuff, prayer books) mostly because I’m not taking it seriously enough. But what’s more serious than having an informed view of my faith?

Not that I’m saying that everybody needs to pick up textbooks or spend a lot of money on courses or anything like that. But each day provides challenges and opportunities to learn, and learning is srs bznss.

(sorry.)

I think there’s an enormous other element to consider here – community, and how the communities that we find ourselves in / choose to be a part of / otherwise encounter play into our learning and development as people. But that’s a huge topic, and probably one for another post.

What do you think about all this? What are you learning? What are you choosing to learn?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

