Tea of the Week – Flo’s Mixture

I’m flying blind a bit with this today – usually I can look up the ingredients of a tea and think about what they’re “supposed” to taste of and see if I can taste that! But this is an unpublished mixture …

Stokes tea wrapperSource: Stokes of Lincoln. Alison bought some for me as a gift – thanks! πŸ™‚

Cost: On their website it says Β£3.10 for 250g.

Ethics: no information.

Brewing Instructions: I decided that it looked similar to loose leaf tea I’ve had from Char, so copied their suggested method: almost boiling water, brew for about 3 minutes. This worked pretty well – possibly closer to 2 mins would be better. 1 largeish teaspoonful per mug.

Appearance: robust, bright tea.

Nose: Tannins … lots of tannins. Not a bad thing πŸ™‚

Taste: This is a pretty strong tea – robust flavour. It’s clearly a blend of teas, from looking at the leaves – look:

Loose leaf tea

Dry tea leaves

Tea leaves post-brewing

Tea leaves post-brewing

I may not be able to tell you quite what’s in there, but there are clearly various elements. I think I can pick out at least 3 distinct appearances of leaves.

My thoughts on drinking this were that it tastes like a tea that “wouldn’t let you down” – I’m not quite sure what that means … but that’s what I thought. It’s got a brightness to it, as well as strength.

Food match: H and I made pikelets today (like scotch pancakes). Although I finished the tea before I started eating pikelets, I’m sure they would go brilliantly together – look at these:

Pikelets, butter and maple syrup ...Delicious!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tea of the Week – Flo’s Mixture

  1. Alison says:

    I like “wouldn’t let you down”. At my dad’s house, it’s his default special occasion tea – he tends to have something boring like PG Tips as his day-to-day tea, but sometimes when I visit he’ll say “Fancy a cup of Flo’s?” and we drink it, and the world is a better place to the bottom of the cup. Glad you liked it πŸ™‚

  2. The world is definitely a better place to the bottom of the cup πŸ™‚ so long as you don’t swallow the dust at the bottom! (Or maybe my mesh strainer thing isn’t *quite* fine enough …)

Leave a Reply

