Baking afghans!

(as opposed to knitting them. Different kind of afghans.)

Afghans are a classic kiwi treat. They’re a sort of shortbread-ish (in that they’re flour/sugar/butter – no egg) chocolate cookie containing cornflakes, topped with chocolate icing and nuts. I’m going away this weekend, and this afternoon made some to take with me :).

Ingredients

Ingredients + cookbook

As a good kiwi, I used the recipe from my Edmond’s cookbook. Ah, Edmond’s … for copyright purposes, though, I am guessing that I shouldn’t post it – there is a very similar recipe here.

Cream butter and sugar. If I haven’t been forward-thinking enough to get the butter out to soften (i.e. most of the time), I tend to cut it into cubes and dot it around the mixing bowl and leave it for a bit. More surface area = quicker softening.

Cutting butter

Cutting butter

Cubed butter in bowl

Cubed butter in bowl

Add sugar. Beat.

Butter and sugar

Butter and sugar

Beaten butter and sugar

Beaten butter and sugar

Sift in flour, cocoa, etc

Flour and cocoa powder

Flour and cocoa powder

Sifted

Sifted

Beat together into a paste-type mixture, and stir in the cornflakes

Dough-y mixture

Dough-y mixture

Adding cornflakes

Adding cornflakes

Mixed!

Mixed!

Squidge into cookie-shapes. They will spread a little bit in the oven, but not much.

These are more spaced out than they need to be

These are more spaced out than they need to be

Bake!

Tray of baked afghans

Tray of baked afghans

After they’re cooled, top them with chocolate icing, and (traditionally) walnut halves. I need these to be nut-free, so I used M&Ms instead.

Don't they look lovely?

Don't they look lovely?

What’s your favourite biscuit/cookie recipe?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baking afghans!

  1. Alison says:

    They look yummy!
    This week, I finally got round to badgering my dad for his ginger biscuit recipe (he makes gingerbread men but I don’t have any fancy cutters). Then Sam got back from visiting his parents with a present for me – a gingerbread cutter in the shape of a train. So I can now make gingerbread trains!
    We should instigate a cake rota for next year’s MEd sessions…

  2. Hazelnut says:

    Mmm… afghans. Haven’t had those in ages, must make some soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

