Tim Minchin “If I didn’t have you”

I heard about Tim Minchin first on The Infinite Monkey Cage, where he was part of their show on Randomness, Probability and Chance. He referenced this song, which talks a bit about how, statistically, if he didn’t have his wife he would probably … be with somebody else.

I think the lyrics are pretty genius, although musically it isn’t the best song I’ve ever heard. Give it a listen:

I think he hits the right balance between “well, mathematically, if I wasn’t with you I’d probably be with somebody else (because there are a lot of somebody elses and some of them must be quite nice and would probably like me)” and not being too much of an arse. What do you think?

(And by the way, you can download The Infinite Monkey Cage podcasts here. I find them really good for listening to on train journeys)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tim Minchin “If I didn’t have you”

  1. Anonymous says:

    There’s other verses that he pulls out at other shows. Explore the greatness that is Tim.

  2. Mary says:

    What episode of The Infinite Monkey cage? Is it series four, episode 6, which is at the top when I open your link? (I love this song, but love others even more.)

    • It’s from Monday 29th November 2010 (not sure of episode number). If you click through the link to the iPlayer bit (my top link) it doesn’t have it because it only shows recent ones, but if you click through to the podcasts (either my link at the bottom of the post, or you can get there on the sidebar on the right from the iPlayer link) you can access it.

      Can you recommend any of your favourite songs of his I should find and listen to? 🙂

  3. Lucie says:

    Hahaha! I love it! XD

Leave a Reply

