“So do not worry …”

“So do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring worries of its own. Today’s trouble is enough for today.”

(Jesus, Matthew 6:34, NRSV)

I am very much feeling this verse at the moment.

I’ve had a good summer. I’ve been away at Soul Survivor and Towersey which were lots of fun and also at times hard work. My ‘real’ (i.e. paid) work has been going pretty well. Study has been going pretty well (essay was due on August 31st, so yes, I have been studying over the summer). This past week, C and I had a ‘proper’ holiday – a week off together wandering around wales, playing board games and watching DVDs. It was really lovely.

And now it’s over. Today I reintroduce nose to grindstone, and they stay very much acquainted for the foreseeable future*.

You see, it’s coming up to Michaelmas term again … the time of year that reintroduces the fear. You know (or maybe you don’t, but if you’re a Cambridge student you probably do). The constant fear, the kind that quietly sits in the pit of your stomach and doesn’t go away. And you work out how to live with it, and if you get it right it does make you work harder and gives you drive and energy and focus. But it isn’t exactly pleasant.

Still, I think I would be more concerned if it got to this time of year and I didn’t have this feeling … I have a lot to accomplish by October 4th, and staying wide awake on the edge of my seat is probably necessary.

So it’s time for a(nother) deep breath, and thinking once again: do not worry about tomorrow; tomorrow will worry about itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.

*probably til about December 5th.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “So do not worry …”

  1. Jack V says:

    *hug* I hope (and expect) you get everything done!

    • Thanks. At the moment I’m trying to sort everything out in my head (and on paper) and keep working through things methodically … got a reasonable amount done today, including lots of email, which was good. Now time to go to bed, get lots of sleep, wake up tomorrow, have a good breakfast, and start again. It should work :).

  2. Pingback: and now for something cheerful – bunting! | Eudoxia Friday : Thoughtful Eclecticism

Leave a Reply

