Saturday Play – attempting crochet

(see what I did there?)

a ball of yarn, crochet hook and the beginnings of a crocheted square

an attempt ...

One of my long-term aims to become confident with crochet – I can knit, I have a maths degree for crying out loud, it can’t be that hard, right? So far I haven’t managed it, though.

But it would be really good to have an easy project going that I can pick up and do bits of here and there when I need to unwind (oh dear … pun not intended). Especially when under stress! I’ve been working on my knitted log cabin blanket recently – I’ve finished another 3 squares for it, and am joining them on to one side at the moment. But soon  I’ll run out of yarn for that, and as it’s fairly pricey stuff I won’t be buying more for a while … so I need another project.

Enter the crocheted square. I want something I can do with a minimum of fuss and with a minimum of colour changes (I don’t like weaving in ends), so when I came across yarnberry’s humble crochet square I decided that that was the way to go. I’ve got some blue yarn in various shades kicking around (picked up at a charity shop) so that’s what I’m working with. Wish me luck!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Saturday Play – attempting crochet

  1. northernnarratives says:

    I know how to crochet but don’t do it too often. I find that knitting is right for me. Good luck on your creative projects 🙂

  2. Alison says:

    Luck! I’m currently snuggling in front of the telly under my massive multicoloured crochet blanket. It was the project I taught myself to crochet with, oooh gosh, more than two years ago now! it has crooked bits and odd-looking stitches, but it’s lovely and warm, and will always be special to me as my first foray into a new craft.

    • Thanks 🙂 I’ve just finished sewing in the ends on the newly-added-to knitted blanket (was a 3×3 square, now 3×4) so maybe this week I will start making proper progress on crochet … I have some train journeys to do so that might be useful time 🙂

Leave a Reply

