2012

Welcome to 2012!

Chinese calendar picture

I don't believe in the Chinese zodiac or anything, but isn't this picture cute?

This new year feels kind of odd.

I think 2011 was the first year in, well, ever that I didn’t experience some kind of major change. When I was in school, moving from one year to another was a notable change; similarly at University my 3 years were very different. In 2010 I graduated and got a job, in 2011 … things just carried on. Not that that’s bad, of course. But it’s different.

2012, all going well, should be an interesting year. My current studies will end in August, and the project my job is part of will also end this year. I hope to get a new full-time job towards the end of the year. Depending on how that goes, C and I hope to move out, which will be a big change (if we manage it).

I’ve also got a non-job-related list of Things to Do in 2012:

  • Make pizza from scratch
    we have a breadmaker, this shouldn’t be too hard. In fact, we’re attempting this tonight 🙂
  • Get some good photos of C and me
    I don’t think we have any nice ones taken in the last 4 years – this should be rectified!
  • Read Paul Through Mediterranean Eyes
    Just bought this using Christmas money – really looking forward to reading it!
  • Write an essay and put it up here on the blog
    not sure what it will be about yet … suggestions welcome!
  • Write a program in Python
    I used Python for a couple of projects towards the end of my degree and would like to play with it again – I’ll probably be checking out Project Euler 
  • Go to a High Church service
    I’m defining that as one that contains incense and a language I don’t speak (e.g. Latin, Greek, or Russian)
  • Memorise 1 Corinthians 13
    That’s the chapter that includes the “Love is patient, love is kind …” bit
  • Watch ‘Inception’
    I have been meaning to watch this for months. We have the DVD. In 2012, I will do it!
  • Clear the song ‘My Life Would Suck Without You’ on Expert level on DDR
    a goal to keep me practicing …
  • Learn a piano piece of approximately Grade 4-5 standard
    it’s been about 10 years since I played … time to tinker again. I have my Grade 5, so this level should be doable.
  • Start a joint savings account with C
    this will save us arguing about who pays for the bubble wrap when we move out …
  • Make chocolate cheesecake brownies
    does this need any justification or explanation? I think not 🙂

The idea is that I do at least one item a month, and then by the end of the year they are all ticked off. I’ve tried to keep these goals pretty lighthearted and achievable as I think I’ll have enough serious stuff on my plate with work, writing my thesis and job-hunting.
Do you have any particular aims for this year?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2012

  1. Pingback: Making Pizza in 2012! | Eudoxia Friday : Thoughtful Eclecticism

  2. Hazelnut says:

    Ooh, I need to make a list like this. Yes, watch Inception! Do it now. Lol. Also, yay for piano piece, perhaps your piano won’t feel so neglected and lonely.

  3. Pingback: 2012 Retrospective | Eudoxia Friday : Thoughtful Eclecticism

  4. Pingback: Why hello there, 2013 | Eudoxia Friday : Thoughtful Eclecticism

Leave a Reply

