for the record

I am a Christian and I support the UK government’s plans to extend civil marriage to same-sex couples. I am sad that the only voices from the Church I have heard have been in opposition to this. (I am also puzzled at the claims that the government does not have the right to redefine civil marriage).

If you are in the same position as me, would you think about publicly stating your support for this? Surely I am not the only one.

You might also want to check out http://www.c4em.org.uk/ (whoever you are).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to for the record

  1. Jack V says:

    Yay! I think it’s great to stress that this isn’t a gay-vs-Christian thing. FWIW I obviously know Christians (and others) who are in favour, although I agree, it’s not usually as prominent as people who are opposed. I guess one thing is, lots of people who are not sure enough of themselves to support something that _some_ people think of as “wrong”. Another may be, amongst some social groups I know, people may be reluctant to loudly make a point of being Christian at all, which I feel really sad about 😦

  2. ” I guess one thing is, lots of people who are not sure enough of themselves to support something that _some_ people think of as “wrong”.”

    I think you’re right. The other thing which I think is really, really crucial is that saying “X should be legal” is very very different from saying “I believe X is desirable/to be encouraged/a choice I would want to make/etc”.

    You don’t need to personally agree with something to think it should be legal. You can be deeply conflicted about it and still think it should be legal. If someone asked me “what, in your opinion, is the proper Christian response to gay marriage?” – oh boy. I don’t have a good, well-thought-out response to that; I know that there is a great diversity in opinion among the Church, and I would want to do an awful lot of looking things up and checking out cultural studies and reading what other people have said/written about it … but “in your opinion, should gay marriage be legal?”, well, that’s a much easier question. Yes, I think it should be legal.

Leave a Reply

