Interview day, and xkcd (life update)

Have you seen Monday’s xkcd, Every Major’s Terrible? I like it a lot 🙂 especially as I really like the Modern Major General song anyway. I quite like today’s xkcd too, about not making fun of people because they haven’t heard of stuff. It’s nice to explain new cool stuff to people (and have it explained to you!) rather than being faux-blase about everything and pretending you know it all already …

I had the interview day I referred to in the previous post today. It was interesting; I think I got all of the information I wanted from them, and I hope they got all of the information they wanted from me. Now we see what happens … I’m supposed to hear in about a week, either way.

Today – after getting back home after the interview – I started reading Dragonheart by Todd McCaffrey. It’s been a long time since I read a Pern book. So far it seems pretty much like the others – i.e. pretty formulaic, with some kind of interesting characters, but nobody in any great depth … I’m enjoying it though. Undemanding reading. I’m about 1/3 of the way through.

Apart from interviewing and reading xkcd I’ve mostly just been working a lot … and dancing 🙂 this past weekend we had a weekend of practice so that was really good, although a lot of people were pretty tired I think. Still, it was nice to catch up with people. I need to get back to working on my thesis though … that will have to wait til Saturday.

I’m running out of Earl Grey! 😦 I’ve been trying to get my way through various stocks of tea, but Earl Grey is my favourite and I don’t want to run out of that … having enjoyed Twinings New Zealand Breakfast blend tea, I’m kind of tempted by Char’s Smokey Earl Grey as I think that might be quite similar. I’ll let you know if I try it.

I’m also coming down with a cold … any advice on how to get rid of it?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Interview day, and xkcd (life update)

  1. Hazelnut says:

    Just looked at the xkcd mentioned, totally made my day… Though I am at uni and supposed to be doing work, not looking at comics… Oh well, half an hour til my next lecture!

Leave a Reply

