Poem: When I am Ordained, I shall wear Purple

I came across this poem by Mia Smith this morning, on the subject of women bishops (about which a motion has failed to pass in the Church of England Synod this week*). It draws on inspiration from Jenny Joseph’s “Warning” (you know, the one which begins ‘When I am an old woman, I shall wear purple …’).

Mia Smith’s poem (link at top of post) begins:

“When I am ordained, I shall wear purple
with killer heels and bright red lipstick
And I shall go round preaching from the Bible …”

and I highly recommend clicking through and reading it 🙂

*a large majority were in favour but due to the way the system works it failed to pass for lack of 6 votes in the House of Laity
Link | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

